Hamburger Menu

Industry News

New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 finalists revealed

7 September 2022

The New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 finalists have been revealed by Tourism Industry Aotearoa (TIA) at an online ceremony today.  

The prestigious Awards showcase and celebrate the tourism industry’s individual and business successes. Winners will be announced in person at a special Awards dinner on 10 November in Kirikiriroa Hamilton, following Tourism Summit Aotearoa.

What has been achieved in the past 12 months is nothing short of extraordinary,” says TIA Chief Executive Rebecca Ingram. “I want to warmly congratulate everyone who took the time to enter the Awards, even if they didn’t make it to finalist status. The competition is tough, and I know the judges really agonised over their decisions this year.”

Judges said the high quality of this year’s entries was a strong statement on the calibre of the people we have in the tourism industry.

Judging these entries was humbling,” said a member of the judging panel. “All entrants deserve recognition for turning the ship around or keeping it steady in a time of crisis. It’s heart-warming to know the industry is in such good hands.

The three awards for individuals are open to outstanding performers in the industry, and nine awards recognise business excellence, industry alignment and organisations that are living the values of the Tourism Sustainability Commitment.

Tourism’s most prestigious new award, the Regenerative Tourism Award, will recognise a business that has the wellbeing of communities at its heart, is representative of Aotearoa’s culture and values, has an excellent visitor experience at its core and is brought to life by a profitable enterprise that shows a high level of social responsibility.

Tickets to the New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 dinner are available at

The full list of finalists is below.


New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 Finalists

Airbnb Regenerative Tourism Award   

Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours Ltd

Owen River Lodge

Ziptrek Ecotours


Tourism Industry New Zealand Trust Community Engagement Award  

Driftwood Eco Tours

iFLY Indoor Skydiving NZ LTD

Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours Ltd


Department of Conservation - Conservation Award   

Discover Waitomo, Tourism Holdings Limited

The Landing

Willowbank Wildlife Reserve Limited 

Tourism Talent Employer of Choice Award   

Christchurch Airport

iFLY Indoor Skydiving NZ LTD

Millbrook Resort


Environment Award   

Christchurch Airport

East By West Company Limited

The Landing 


Tourism New Zealand Industry Collaboration Award   

Angus & Associates

Maverick Digital and Trust Tairāwhiti

Otago Cycle Trail Collaboration Initiative  

Regional Tourism New Zealand


He Toa Takitini Māori Tourism Award

Kapiti Island Nature Tours

Kohutapu Lodge & Tribal Tours Ltd

MDA Experiences

Russell - Orongo Bay Holiday Park


Westpac Resilience and Innovation Award   

Altitude Tours

Christchurch Airport

Haka Tourism Group


NZME Visitor Experience Award   

Akaroa Dolphins

Altitude Tours

Hollyford Wilderness Experience


Individual Awards 

PATA New Zealand Trust Emerging Tourism Leader Award  

Alex Dykman, Maverick Digital 

Antz Longman, Tourism Central Otago

Anne Newman, Christchurch Adventure Park


Marsh Tourism Industry Champion Award  

John Barrett, Kapiti Island Nature Tours

Dylan Rushbrook, Tourism Central Otago

Nicholas Sautner, The Eden Park Trust

The Sir Jack Newman Award for Outstanding Industry Leader will also be presented on the night.


About the New Zealand Tourism Awards

The New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 are run by TIA, with Award Partner Air New Zealand. The Awards are sponsored by Airbnb, Department of Conservation, Marsh, New Zealand Māori Tourism, PATA New Zealand Trust, Tourism Industry New Zealand Trust, Tourism New Zealand, Tourism Talent, NZME, Westpac, and supported by The Mighty Waikato and H3.

For more information on the New Zealand Tourism Awards, visit

Thanks to our strategic partners

Thanks to our strategic partners

Thanks to our strategic partners